Grand Duchy of Luxembourg

Despite being one of the smallest members of the European Union, Luxembourg is nevertheless the birthplace of the concept of a unified Europe. Together with Brussels and Strasbourg, Luxembourg City is the official headquarters of many of the European Union’s major institutions. A multicultural city by tradition, Luxembourg continues to enhance its cosmopolitan nature. The city of Luxembourg, the thousand-year-old capital of the Grand Duchy, was founded in 963.

Over the course of its history, Luxembourg has been occupied by Burgundians, Spaniards, French, Austrians and Prussians, all of whom contributed to making it one of the best-fortified cities in the world, the “Gibraltar of the North”. Today, the fortress, along with the Old Town, have gained international recognition. In 1994, UNESCO recognized the city's historical importance by naming it a World Heritage Site. 

>> Visit for more information on tourism in Luxembourg and to discover Luxembourg City.

Share this page